Chapter 23.45 Multi-Family: Out of the frying pan and into the mire

I feel a little like Bilbo and Frodo now. What lies ahead of me is the last of the purely residential zones, the low rise–Ls as I call them–and Midrise and Highrise designations.

The chapter is long and broken into 5 parts. Oddly, Part 3 Use Provisions and General Provisions and Part 4 Standards for Residential Uses in Midrise and Highrise Zones are empty, blank. There’s nothing there. I don’t know why that is.

The rest of the chapter is going to be complex I am sure. But like the single family designation my plan is to write a somewhat evocative essay before I launch into the designation. I’ll work through the Ls first, then move into Midrise and Highrise designations. My plan is to do two separate posts for low and one for mid and high.

I’m going to need lots of comments if anyone has time. So far I have gotten some great comments and admonitions from three folks I admire–Sara Nikolic, David Neiman, and Rob Harrison. Where’s everyone else? If you’re lurking and think I said something wrong, missed a subtlety or you strongly agree or disagree say so. My point in doing this is to run the code through my brain or run my brain through the code. Getting your thoughts helps me and I think the overall project.

I plan to write more about how I feel that is going, maybe before posting about the Ls. It has been something of an adventure. I suspect it’s only going to get more interesting from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

