Happy Mothers Day!

What’s the land use angle of Mother’s Day you wonder? I can’t say I am entirely sure. Mother’s Day is what I call a “greeting card holiday,” created by Big Greeting Card interests years ago to keep us addicted to their deadly products.

But this picture is a standout for me. Some of my earliest memories are of driving in that green pick-up truck. I remember that green coat with the pin on it as well.

This picture was taken in 1973 or so at my grandmother’s rural home in Northern New Mexico. You can see the mud from rain fall (they have rain there, too) and since the trees are bear it’s likely late fall. It might even have been snow.

I mentioned before that my interest in land use was largely shaped early by the flat, wide open spaces of New Mexico.

I suppose this picture can serve as a nostalgic entry into City Tank’s H&T album. Feel free to share your favorite Mom and land use story in the comments. But don’t buy a card!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

